Coalitions can be a new era for regional municipalities

Die Pos

Coalitions can be a new era for regional municipalities - Image - Die Pos

With last week’s municipal elections behind us, there is a great job ahead for all, over the next few months.

Although the election results is a story about a community, where the voters expressed their dissatisfaction with the ANC-controlled municipality and poor service delivery. It is not a foregone conclusion that the Modimolle / Mookgophong municipality will again be governed by the party.

According to Wiets Botes, who stood as an independent candidate, there will be 14 days after Saturday, August 6, for political parties to negotiate coalitions. None of the parties has managed to obtain an absolute majority in the newly merged municipality.

The EFF and FF+, have, according to Botes, an exclusive bargaining power because the ANC and DA will not partner together and coalitions with minorities can give them the majority in the council.

“We feel good that we have achieved our goal of forcing the ANC’s turn out to below 50 percent. In Modimolle / Mookgophong they now have, 49.04% compared to 62.45 and 64.67% in 2011. In Thabazimbi they now hold 45.83%. In Bela-Bela, the ANC decreased their control from 64.16% to 52.86%, “said Desiree van der Walt, DA MP, and constituency head in the Waterberg said.

The Modimolle and Mookgophong election results are as follows: The ANC has 47.41% (13,650 votes), the DA 24.76% (7,130 votes), the EFF 19.37% (5,578 votes) and the FF + 5.92% (1,705 votes). It gives the ANC 13 seats, the DA seven seats, the EFF six seats and the FF + two seats.

The ANC has secured less than 50% of voters confidence, giving the opposition parties the opportunity to form coalitions and keep control away from the ANC. Although, no results of coalitions have been agreed upon yet. Die Pos, has a letter sent from the ANC’s provincial office to the Freedom Front Plus requesting an urgent meeting to discuss a coalition deal.

Kobus Nel, former FF + councilor in the town, deals with Dr. Pieter Mulder, chairperson of its federal council negotiations. “The recommendations we want in Modimolle and Mookgophong is for any negotiations with the EFF to commit to farms, not to occupy private or state property. Protests must be within the law, and no property may be damaged. Thirdly we recommend that all appointments for key positions must be based on merit, regardless of race or gender,” he said.

Johann Abrie, who was elected as ward councilor for the DA in Modimolle, said coalitions are not all at the local level. “We have received written notice that we are totally not allowed to negotiate at the local level. It is a federal privilege, “he said.

According to local politicians, the national trend also pointed out that there was apparently a big stay-away in Phagameng but a good turnout in the opposition’s wards. The independent election commission said 29,220 people cast their votes as opposed to the 50,680 registered voters, giving a turnout of 57.66%.

There was a keen interest in other several wards and in which way to swing the vote.

On Modimolle Ward 12, of which Kokanje, Bosveldsig, Koro Creek are part, and includes surrounding parts of the town, a great uncertainty prevailed over the impact the independent candidate, Wiets Botes had over a former ANC councilor. The results were as follows: Sarna Groenewald (DA) received 1,782 votes, Charles Niewenhuis (FF +) 378 Wiets Botes (independent) 357 and Murisi Masuluke (ANC) 82.

In Ward 11 initially, the older part of the town also included and a large part of Phagameng, Johann Abrie (DA) gained 1,118 (39.84%) votes, Mokgadi Dayimani (ANC) 1 061 (37.8%) and Isaac Makwaana (EFF) 468 (16.68%).

In Ward 2, which includes Alma and 24 Rivers, the ANC’s Grace Mashitishu and the DA’s Dingane Motshwene were in a head-to-head battle. Mashitishu (ANC) gained 696 (39.98%) votes, Motshwene (DA) 677 (38, 89%) and Ramasela Chauke (EFF) 228 (13.10%).

In Mookgophong, Sarah Monyamane, the current mayor of Ward 4 achieved a win of 62.37% of the votes (1,397), Lesiba Kekana (EFF) got 28.30% (634 votes), and Malose Mokonyane (Mookgophong Party) 3.57 obtain 0% (80 votes).

In Ward 5, also in Mookgophong, Hercules Louw of the (DA) received 55.35% (1,463 votes) and the FF+ 24.74% (654 votes) with the ANC receiving 13.81% (365 votes).

Vaalwater’s two wards, Ward 1 and Ward 3, were both won by the ANC. They overcame a percentage shrinkage from the last election. The two wards are part of the five polling stations of which the DA won for the first time.

South Africa Today – South Africa News

Disclaimer: The views of authors published on South Africa Today are their own and do not necessarily represent the views of South Africa Today. By viewing, visiting, using, or interacting with, you are agreeing to all the provisions of the Terms of Use Policy and the Privacy Policy.