Luxe Restaurant Awards

Franschhoek, 22 May 2024 — Last night, the enchanting Monument House in Franschhoek played host to the 2024 Luxe Restaurant Awards, an illustrious celebration of South Africa’s finest culinary talent. The event, known for its prestige and star-studded guest list, did not disappoint, bringing together luminaries from across the gastronomic world for an unforgettable evening of recognition and revelry.

The awards ceremony was a glittering affair, with culinary icons such as the critically acclaimed fine-dining chef James Gaag, culinary media personality The Lazy Makoti, and food entrepreneur Siba Mtongana gracing the event with their presence. Their attendance underscored the significance of the Luxe Restaurant Awards in the South African culinary scene.

Among the evening’s highlights was the announcement of La Petite Colombe as the Restaurant of the Year. Nestled in the heart of Franschhoek, La Petite Colombe has consistently dazzled with its innovative cuisine and impeccable service, making it a deserving recipient of this prestigious accolade.

Callan Austin was honored as Chef of the Year, a testament to his exceptional culinary prowess and dedication to his craft. Austin’s creative vision and commitment to excellence have set a new benchmark in the industry, earning him this well-deserved recognition.

Chad Fourie, founder and chief judge of the Luxe Restaurant Awards, spoke to the significance of such accolades in celebrating and promoting culinary excellence. “The Luxe Restaurant Awards play a crucial role in recognizing the outstanding talent within our vibrant culinary landscape,” said Fourie. “South Africa boasts some of the most innovative and skilled chefs in the world, and these awards not only honor their achievements but also inspire the next generation of culinary artists.”

The night also shone a spotlight on emerging talents and established icons alike, celebrating the diversity and dynamism of South Africa’s culinary landscape. Guests were treated to a sumptuous array of dishes, reflecting the rich tapestry of flavors that define the nation’s cuisine.

This year’s Luxe Restaurant Awards not only celebrated culinary excellence but also highlighted the industry’s resilience and innovation. Despite the challenges of recent years, the South African culinary community has continued to thrive, pushing the boundaries of creativity and quality.

As the evening drew to a close, attendees departed with a renewed sense of inspiration and camaraderie, looking forward to another year of culinary achievements. The 2024 Luxe Restaurant Awards once again affirmed its status as the pinnacle of culinary recognition in South Africa, setting the stage for future gastronomic triumphs.

Please see the full list of winners below.


African Restaurant of the Year: The Happy Uncles

Bistro of the Year: Farro Restaurant

Burger Joint of the Year: Zuney Wagyu

Café of the Year: Hemelhuijs

Casual Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Post and Pepper

Chef of the Year: Callan Austin

Coffee Shop of the Year: Truth Coffee

Contemporary Restaurant of the Year: Club Kloof

Culinary Change Award: Wandile Mabaso

Culinary Innovation Award: Rikku O’Donnchu     

Culinary Media Personality of the Year: Clement Pedro

Culinary Rising Star Award: Matt Van Den Berg

Family Restaurant of the Year: The Table at De Meye

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Belly of the Beast

Grillhouse of the Year: VUUR Restaurant
Hidden Gem Award: Stefan’s Restaurant at Erinvale Hotel & Spa

Hotel Restaurant of the Year: Upper Union

International Restaurant of the Year: Ouzeri

Legacy Award: La Colombe

Lifestyle Restaurant of the Year: Club Como

New Restaurant of the Year: Mertia

Pastry Chef of the Year: Jared Melamed

People’s Choice Award: Kolonaki Greek Kouzina

Pioneer Award: James Gaag

Pop-Up Restaurant of the Year: Chef Rikku at The Art of Duplicity

Restaurant of the Year: La Petite Colombe

Restobar of the Year: The 11th Floor

Service Excellence Award: The Living Room

Street Food Restaurant of the Year: The Siba Deli

Supper Club of the Year: Tempo Luxury Restaurant 

Sustainability Award: Salsify at the Roundhouse

Wine Service Award: Keize Mumba


For more information about the Luxe Restaurant Awards and a complete list of winners, please visit the Instagram page @luxe.awards