Nominees And Hall Of Fame Recipient Announced For The 10th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards

Nominees And Hall Of Fame Recipient Announced For The 10th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards
Nominees And Hall Of Fame Recipient Announced For The 10th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards

The vibe was electric and the anticipation real as the list of 50 names were announced as nominees for the 10th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards.

There were plenty of cheers, whoops, selfies and camaraderie (and complementary Savanna Cider, of course) as comedians, media and sponsors gathered on the rooftop of the Radisson RED in Rosebank to congratulate and celebrate the nominated comedians and content creators across the 10 categories.

The wait to find out who made the shortlist was finally over. Thabiso Mhlongo and Sifiso Nene lead the pack with three nods each, followed by Nina Hastie, Vafa Naraghi, Robby Collins, Mbali Gudazi, Thabiso Mhlongo, Suhayl Essa and Wazi M Kunene with two nominations each.

Here are the nominees for the 2023 Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards (in no particular order):

Stand-Up Comedy

Best Solo Show Award

  • Kagiso KG Mokgadi
  • Prins
  • Sifiso Nene
  • Suhayl Essa
  • Thabiso Mhlongo

Comedy Festival/Show Award

  • Armchair Comedy Wednesdays
  • Bioscope Sundays
  • Extreme Comedy Wednesday
  • Johannesburg International Comedy Festival
  • Women in Comedy Show

Savanna Newcomer Award

  • JamJam
  • Mbali Gudazi
  • Vafa Naraghi
  • Vision Masango
  • Wazi M Kunene

Breakthrough Act of the Year Award

  • Linde Sibanda
  • Nkosinathi Maki
  • Nonto R
  • Suhayl Essa
  • Thabiso Mhlongo

Comedian of the Year Award

  • Carvin H Goldstone
  • Robby Collins
  • Schalk Bezuidenhout
  • Sifiso Nene
  • Siya Seya

Non-English Award

  • James Chomi Ya Jeso
  • Nonto R
  • Summary
  • TT Phasha
  • Zicco Sithole
Comedic Content

UpLIFTing Comedic Comedy Award

  • Linde Sibanda
  • Nina Hastie
  • Rory Petzer
  • Tsitsi Chiumya
  • Vafa Naraghi

Funny Influencer Content

  • Gino The Craftsman
  • Mbali Gudazi & Nina Hastie
  • Robby Collins
  • Suhayl Essa
  • Vafa Naraghi

Funny is Funny

  • Checkers Sixty60
  • The Courier Guy
  • King Price Insurance
  • Nando’s
  • WeBuyCars

Sauce of the Year Award

  • Dillan Oliphant
  • Sifiso Nene
  • Thabiso Mhlongo
  • Wazi M Kunene

Hall of Fame Award Recipient
Alan Committie

The live-streamed nominee announcement media event was the culmination of more than two years of preparation and dedication – and several instrumental changes – to put the awards back on SA’s events calendar, all with sole aim of honouring the best of the country’s stand-up comedians and comedic content creators.

Along with the new voting system, run by an independent third party, the word “comedy” was added to the event’s title, to make it more accessible to the public. Incubator workshops have been launched, the first of which was held alongside the Savanna Newcomer Showcase in Cape Town in February.

Satellite events will also be held in different provinces as much as possible, so that the full industry, nationally, can be a part of it.

The awards are also recruiting from the industry, working with comedians and content creators to run the social media and event co-ordination, and booking comedians to perform and MC shows.

And lastly, Waldo, the awards trophy, has been refashioned. It will be unveiled at the main awards show.

Vote for your favourite and win!
To bring the awards closer to the public, four of the categories now go out for comedy fans to vote for their favourite:

  • Breakthrough Act of the Year Award
  • Sauce of the Year Award, Presented by Mrs. Balls
  • UpLIFTing Comedic Content Award, Presented by LIFT
  • Funny is Funny Award

Your vote puts you in the running to win an exclusive VIP trip to the awards on 15 April. Go to before 2 April to cast your vote.

Book your seat for the birthday celebration of the year!
The winners will be announced at a glamorous black tie birthday celebration event at The Galleria in Sandton on 15 April 2023. Find out who’ll walk away with one of the 10 awards, whilst being entertained by comedy sketches from your favourite comedians, and celebrity appearances from your favourite stars. It’s going to be quite the night!

The who’s who of SA’s comedy industry will be there, and you could be too. Secure your seat for an incredible awards show and night of laughter and entertainment. Limited tickets are available to the public via Quicket here.

The 10th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards is proudly supported by Savanna Premium Cider, LIFT, Mrs. Balls, Me Channel 115, One-eyed Jack, Newsclip and amaSocial.