Amex ZA Graphic Arts Challenge’ winners and Rosebank mural announced

Amex ZA Graphic Arts Challenge’ winners and Rosebank mural announced
John Wills Amex, Khensani Nobanda Nedbank and Privesan Naidoo Nedbank with the winners

Five local artists were announced as winners of the inaugural “Amex ZA Graphic Arts Challenge” at a First Thursdays exhibition at Keyes Art Mile in Rosebank on 2 March 2023. Graphic artists, illustrators, and designers were called to create artwork based on the theme, ‘the vibrant African marketplace – everyone is welcome.’ Winning artwork will be featured in new marketing materials for businesses who welcome American Express Card Members in South Africa.

The challenge was organised by Nedbank, the authorised card issuer and merchant acquirer of American Express in South Africa.

The five winners, Mark Modimola, Nene Mahlangu, Hlulani Trevor Hlongwane, Michelle Ewany Opani and Althea Botha, were each awarded R100 000, distributed by Nedbank, and will soon see their work appear on signage in American Express-accepting merchants across South Africa.

American Express and Nedbank also announced that, in partnership with Keyes Art Mile, mural of Mark Modimola’s work, Ubuntu Flux will be painted on the side of the Trumpet building. This will be the first major mural on a landmark building in Rosebank and signifies American Express’s commitment to spreading messages of acceptance within the communities of South Africa.

‘We are so inspired by the number of high-quality entries received from South Africa’s wealth of talented creatives,’ says James Wainaina, Business Development Vice President, Sub-Saharan Africa, American Express. ‘The winning entries are all rooted in the vibrant hospitality that South Africa is known for globally and carry welcoming messages that American Express is proud to support.’

Two runners-up, Karlien de Villers and Kris Hewitt received R20 000 each, distributed by Nedbank.

The finalists and winners are currently exhibited at the Keyes Art Mile. The exhibition is free and open to the public until 14 April 2023.

The panel of judges included Lady Skollie, a visual artist; Theresa Mkwanazi (Head of Product Marketing at Nedbank); Moemise Kekana (Integrated Creative Director at Joe Public United); Zanele Kumalo (Editor, Digital Media Specialist and Associate Director at Kalashnikovv Gallery); Theresho Selesho (Creative Entrepreneur and CEO of Matchbox Live); Maaike Bakker (Head of Visual Communication at Open Window); and Eben Keun (Founder and Chief Brand Architect at Breinstorm Brand Architects).

For more information, visit