Brazil Officially Withdraws From Union of South American Nations – President


MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Brazil officially left the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) on Tuesday to join the newly-created Forum for the Progress and Development of South America (Prosur), the country’s president, Jair Bolsonaro, said on Tuesday.

“Foreign Minister Ernesto Araujo has formalized [Brazil’s] exit from the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR), so that the country could join the Forum for the Progress and Development of South America (Prosur),” Bolsonaro wrote on Twitter.

Bolsonaro recalled that Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela were still members of UNASUR, the organization that he described as a project of late Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez.

READ MORE: Venezuelan FM Slams Ecuador’s Exit From Union of South American Nations

In March, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay and Peru announced the creation of a new regional bloc — Prosur — as a counterbalance to UNASUR. Respect for human rights, principles of democracy, protection of fundamental freedoms and territorial integrity of a state have been named among the main membership requirements.

READ MORE: Eight South American Countries Announce Creation of New Regional Bloc

UNASUR is a regional organization that became a legal entity back in 2011. It aims to enhance trust between the regional countries and creating an integration space for South American people. In April 2018, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay and Peru suspended their membership of the organization.

CC BY 2.0 / F Delventhal

Sputnik News

South Africa Today – World News – Latin America

Disclaimer: The views of authors published on South Africa Today are their own and do not necessarily represent the views of South Africa Today. By viewing, visiting, using, or interacting with, you are agreeing to all the provisions of the Terms of Use Policy and the Privacy Policy.